How do I turn on incognito mode

Incognito mode: Activate private surfing

Basically the incognito mode clears the history (chronicle) and with most browsers also the cookieswhen a session is ended, but usually does not delete bookmarks or downloaded files. Deleting the browsing history can be especially important when several people use the same computer. If someone surfs incognito, subsequent users of the computer cannot track which pages someone was on in the conventional way.

Internet providers and network administrators - and thus usually also employers in the case of company PCs - can very well track which pages someone has called up; even in incognito mode. Incognito mode protects (at least originally) not in front of trackers and analysis toolsthat websites use to try to track users' surfing behavior; nor from malwaresuch as B. Keyloggers or sniffing software. Some browsers such as Mozilla Firefox have extended the protection mechanisms in this direction - the settings for this are usually made independently of the incognito mode.

Surfing incognito primarily means that subsequent users on the same computer cannot understand which pages the previous user has accessed. In addition, most browsers delete the cookies that were set by third-party providers while surfing in incognito mode after the surfing process has ended. The general rule: Even in incognito mode, surfing is by no means "anonymous". If you want to make your surfing behavior completely anonymous, you have to choose other methods.